19 winning products and two honourable mentions recognized during Innovation Breakfast

MIAMI (February 17, 2017) – The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) and Boating Writers International (BWI) honoured winners of the 2017 Progressive Insurance Miami International Boat Show Innovation Awards, recognizing exceptionally groundbreaking new consumer marine products, presented during the Innovation Breakfast held at Miami Marine Stadium Park & Basin. This year’s program evaluated 63 products across 23 categories featuring an outstanding pool of entries. The judges ultimately selected 19 winners and two honourable mentions in 16 categories for a total of 21 honourees.

The 2017 Progressive Insurance Miami International Boat Show Innovation Award winners are:

Boat Care and Maintenance: Snap Tool Multi-Key, Davis Instruments

Centre Console/ Walkaround Fishing Boats: 230 Outrage, Boston Whaler

Boston Whaler 230 Outrage

Consumer Safety Equipment (Dual Winners): 100 N Junior Harness Lifejacket, Spinlock USA; SeaAngel SA15 ASI Flare SART/MOB, FT-Tec USA

Cuddy Cabin and Bowrider Boats: SLX 400, Sea Ray Boats

Sea Ray SLX 400

Deck Equipment and Hardware: Scout Articulating Rocket Launcher, Scout Boats

  • Honourable Mention: CLite2 LED Searchlight with FLIR Camera, IMTRA Corporation

Docking and Fendering Equipment: EZ Kayak Launch, EZ Dock

Electric Motor/ Battery Powered Propulsion: Cruise Fixed Pod System, Torqeedo

Fishing Equipment, Gear & Tackle: Sea Lime Fishing Lures, Sea Lime

Furnishings & Interior Parts: Anti-Spill Wine Glasses, Royal Stabilis

Royal Stabilis Anti-Spill Wine Glass

Inboard Engines: GDI Engine Series, Ilmor Marine

Personal Gear, Soft Goods: Deck-Boss Boot, Grundens USA

Personal Watercraft: Sea-Doo SPARK TRIXX, BRP U.S.

Propulsion Equipment & Parts: Volvo Penta Inboard Joystick, Volvo Penta

Volvo Penta Joystick Inboard

Tow Boats: Dock Star, MasterCraft Boat Company

  • Honorable Mention: Super Air Nautique GS-Series, Nautique Boat Company

Watersport Equipment (Dual Winners): StereoActive, Fusion Electronics; Mirage Eclipse, Hobie Cat Company

Mirage Eclipse from Hobie Cat

Consumer Electronics, Mobile Applications and Software (Dual Winners): GX6500 Fixed Mount VHF, Standard Horizon; Axiom MFDs, Raymarine

The Innovation Awards judges’ committee is comprised of eight BWI members who perform product testing throughout the year and have specific expertise in marine products and equipment. The judges’ committee is chaired by Zuzana Prochazka and co-chaired by Alan Wendt.

Celebrating the thousands of innovative products, ideas and services showcased during the Miami Boat Show each year, the Innovation Breakfast featured a host of presentations focused on propelling the boating industry forward through innovation, including the Innovation Awards. The Innovation Breakfast was presented by the Recreational Boating and Fishing Foundation with support from Dominion Marine Media and Enterprise Florida.